However, what is not often discussed is how these laws work. When it comes to rules, there are always new ones being passed. One of those recently passed laws is the Michigan Child Front Seat Law. The Michigan Child Front Seat Law is intended to protect children from death or serious injury in the event of a motor vehicle crash.
This law prohibits people under 18 from sitting in the front seat of a vehicle while a child is present. This includes children who are in car seats or booster seats. In addition, this law also applies to adults who transport children in the front seat. If you are charged with a misdemeanor for violating this law, you could face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
The Michigan Child Front Seat law was created in 2011 by Governor Rick Snyder and the Michigan legislature to protect children riding in the front seat of a vehicle from getting injured during car accidents.
What is the Michigan Child Seat Law?
The Michigan Child Seat Law has been in effect since January 2018. The law was passed by the Michigan State Legislature and signed into law by Governor Rick Snyder. The law states that a child must be secured in a rear-facing car seat or booster seat until they reach the age of eight. Children in forward-facing car seats or booster seats are not subject to the law.
Children who are not restrained may be prohibited from riding in the front seat if the vehicle has a built-in safety system that prevents passengers from sitting in the front seat. Children who are not restrained may also be prohibited from riding in the front seat if they are not wearing a helmet or if the helmet is defective. If a child is not restrained, a parent or guardian may be punished for allowing a child to ride in the front seat.
How does the Michigan Child Seat Law work?
The Michigan Child Front Seat Law (Michigan MCL 257.352a) was enacted on January 1, 2020. Under this law, it is illegal for any person to allow a child under the age of 6 to sit in the front seat of a motor vehicle unless that child is seated in a child restraint system that meets or exceeds Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) standards.
Children between 6 and 16 years of age may not be allowed to ride in the front seat of a vehicle unless they are seated in a child restraint system that meets or exceeds FMVSS standards.
Children between 17 and 18 may not be allowed to ride in the front seat of a vehicle unless they are seated in a child restraint system that meets or exceeds FMVSS standards.
There is no requirement that a child restraint system is used to meet the needs of the law. The law applies to passenger cars, light trucks, and vans. It does not apply to motorcycles, off-road, or other motorized vehicles.
Who is responsible for seat belt violations?
If the police pull you over and you have violated this law, you are charged with a misdemeanor. However, this doesn’t mean that you will be jailed. If you have a valid license and insurance, you can still receive a ticket instead of jail time.
The fine for the violation is $25.00. If you are caught again, you can be fined $50.00. If caught a third time, you can be charged with a crime and face up to a year in jail.
What are the penalties for not wearing a child seat?
Michigan is a pretty authoritarian state when it comes to laws. This includes rules for child safety, so we can assume that if you are driving a car with children under 18 in it, you must comply with the child front seat law.
The penalty for not complying is quite simple. You will get a ticket in the mail and be fined $250 for each child in the front seat. So if you have two kids in the front seat, you will be charged $500.
While it seems like a small amount, you will be charged even if you are a legal adult. The police can’t tell you what you are doing is illegal unless you get pulled over and they ask you.
How to avoid a child front seat ticket in Michigan
The key to preventing a child front seat ticket in Michigan is to use a child car seat. The best thing about using a child car seat is that it is mandatory in Michigan. The second best thing about using a child car seat is that it will save you from a hefty fine. A child car seat is one of the safest things you can buy for your child. A child car seat will reduce the risk of injury in an accident. It will also reduce the risk of injury if your child were to be a passenger in a moving vehicle.
Frequently Asked Questions Child Front Seat
Q: Do you need to inform the police if your child has a booster seat?
A: Yes, they need to be informed of the seat requirements.
Q: Is this applicable to all cars or just new ones?
A: This applies to all new vehicles.
Q: How does this law affect me as a driver?
A: This law helps parents protect their children from injury and death in vehicle crashes.
Q: How do I know if my vehicle is equipped with a safety belt?
A: If your car is an older model or does not have a lap-type safety belt, it is illegal for children under 16 to sit in the front seat without a safety belt.
Top 3 Myths About Child Front Seat
1. My insurance won’t cover the cost if I don’t pay for the ticket.
2. If I get a ticket, it will go on my record and raise my rates.
3. The penalty for a first violation is a $25 fine and a warning letter.
The law was created to protect child passengers from death or serious injury due to a crash. It requires children under the age of eight to be secured into the back seat of a vehicle.
Children between eight and 16 must also be restrained in a booster seat. If you are driving a vehicle with only two passenger seats, the law does not apply. If your car is equipped with seatbelts, they must be installed correctly.